Login | Register
Make a Payment
Contact Us
Deed Restrictions
Homes for Sale
Business Directory
Community Info
Gas Drilling
Crime Prevention
Garage Door Secure?
Warnings and Tips
Crime Stoppers
Neighborhood Liaisons
Minutes & Financials
Report Violations of Deed Restrictions




Of the 61 Home Owners Associations in Grand Prairie Texas, Westchester is the largest with over 2300 homes.  Through the years, many dedicated residents have volunteered their time and efforts to make Westchester one of the best places to live in the Southwest region of Dallas County.  Westchester was Voted #1 in several catagories by the Dallas Morning News, include best community to live in.

The Westchester community of homeowners was the first in Grand Prairie Texas to elect to have a Public Improvement District (PID).  This created a public private partnership with the city council to maintain public lands at a higher standard while offering several advantages such as exemption of state and city sales taxes on purchased services, and funding collected by ad valorem property tax held in a special city trust fund.

The PID does not handle Deed Restrictions and this remains the function of the assocation.   Indeed the HOA and the PID have some common interest but they do not perform the same function.  Being active in both processes is vital to our community prosperity.   You are part of the HOA by the very nature of owning property or living in the community.
Westchester association of homeowners is unique in that the dues are voluntary.  Some surveys show that the general popularity of HOA’s is low as they are seen as over bearing and overly restrictive.  Yet, everyone agrees there must be some standards for the community.   These standards help maintain property values and desirability.
The 3 rules in real estate is location, location and location.    
Why did you move here?  Do you want to keep it this way, make it better or both? 
Westchester History

During the summer of 1986, several residents established a neighborhood crime watch and decided to form an association to assure the beauty, safety and stability of the neighborhood and the surrounding community.
The turnout at the Trammell Crow meeting in February 1987 proved that Westchester is a community that is committed to its future and has an interest in being involved.  On March 16, 1987, a general meeting was called in which an association was formed and a temporary Executive Committee was elected. The main duty of the Committee was to develop a set of bylaws.
At the General Meeting held May 28, 1987, 7:00 pm at the Sesquicentennial Park, the bylaws were approved and elections for the Executive board were held.
These presidents and their board members have donated their time to support the community in which they live.  Who have developed, fostered and contributed to the HOA that we have today.  WAHO could not be the community we are today without their dedication, passion and vision that they all had independently year after year.

                                                        1987-1987  Bill Moore
                                                        1987-1988  Bill Stephan
                                                        1988-1989  John Paschall
                                                        1989-1990  John Pendergrass
                                                        1990-1991  Debbie Caldwell
                                                        1991-1992  Scott Shimer
                                                        1992-1994  Dane Rasmussen
                                                        1994-1995  Keith Stock
                                                        1995-1997  Jeff Cannon
                                                        1997-1999  Gary LaGray
                                                        1999-2000  Cory Abbott
                                                        2000-2001  Lisa Barnes
                                                        2001-2004  John Stewart
                                                        2004-2005  Brandon Rose
                                                        2005-2006  Wes McCoy
                                                        2006-2008  Virginia Shafer
                                                        2008-2009  Libby Clawson
                                                        2009-2013  Rosemary Reed
                                                        2013-2014  Todd Hancock
                                                        2014-2016  Kurt Johnson
                                                        2017-2019  Louis Howerton
                                                        2019 -        John Stewart                         
Please come join us and remember your dues will allow us to do more good in the neighborhood.
Together we can do more in our community than the sum of our individual efforts.  
Shop Westchester First, stay local in Grand Prairie Texas